A radical change in scale!

To develop my previous people watching sketches I felt I needed to get them out of the sketchbook and on a larger scale, so I chose to go from A5 to A1.  I began by sitting and taking pictures of people passing me and then going back to my studio and drawing them. This is the result:

IMG_7165[1](Click on the image to enlarge it)

But by changing from life to photos my sketches became orderly and meticulous.  The different source had completely changed the style and I didn’t want that.   So I tried again but this time I looked out of my studio window to draw the people who walked past, this is the result:

IMG_7170[1](Click on the image to enlarge it)

Half way through drawing this it started to rain, so everyone began to put their hoods up. I made the mistake of thinking about this and so I stopped and waited for the rain to finish, when in actual fact I should of carried on as I was recording human nature so shouldn’t have been thinking about the composition. This was another thing I needed to change so I decided to try again and this time I used the people walking past in the background of peoples Disney family photos, a kind of ‘Ghost’ you could call them.

 IMG_7176[1](Click on the image to enlarge it)

Leave a Reply

